State of emergency decreed in four provinces of Ecuador

( Spanish) — In Ecuador, President Guillermo Lasso declared this Wednesday a state of emergency in the provinces of Azuay, Imbabura, Sucumbíos and Orellana for 30 days.

“This decision has the objective of restoring public order, controlling situations of manifest violence, protecting reserved areas, ensuring the provision of food, medical gases, oxygen for hospitals and clinics, fuel and food, and the integrity of the citizenry,” he said. the government in a statement.

Earlier, the mayor of Quito, Santiago Guarderas, asked Lasso to consider declaring a new state of emergency in the Ecuadorian capital. However, in Pichincha, the province where the capital is located, a state of emergency was not declared. In an official letter that he published on his Twitter account, he stated that there were acts of violence in the city, roadblocks and damage to public and private property that generated “terror and panic” in the inhabitants.

Ecuador lives this Wednesday the seventeenth day of national strike. In images captured by in Quito, you can see dozens of people protesting in the streets. At the moment, there are no reports of violent events during the day.

Source link

Written by Editor TLN

Leave a Reply

Grifols shares plummet 12.3% due to a possible capital increase

Grifols shares plummet 12.3% due to a possible capital increase

The family photo that marks the official start of the NATO Summit.

NATO identifies Russia as “a threat” and refers to China as “a challenge” for the first time