How it works and how to use Twitter Circle
Before you post on Twitter, users will see an option to share with the ‘Twitter Circle’ of their choice or with an entire list of followers. Circles can include up to 150 people, and you can adjust who’s in and who’s out at any time.
Tweets sent to your circle will appear with a green badge below them and will only be visible to the people you’ve selected. It is important to note that they cannot be retweeted or shared. Also, all replies to tweets are private, even if the poster’s account is open to everyone.
Why did this tool come about?
According to the social network, since its testing phase began, people have been sharing how this feature has helped them personalize their Twitter experience, including:
Feel more comfortable tweeting and expressing themselves
Eliminating the need for alternate or secondary accounts
Share content with a close and ever-evolving group of friends
Avoid switching between public and private account settings